top of page

1 hostel, 30+ people

Imagine living with about 30 other people, that you have never lived with before. Then sharing a room with three of those 30 people. No privacy, no alone time, and barely any bathroom time.

This is how I lived for one month in Mexico, which was not all bad but it was not all good either. Living with so many different personalities in a small hostel had to be my largest challenge throughout the entire trip. AND not to mention it was nearly all girls in the group. Naturally, when girls spend too much time together, we tend to be catty why I do not know. But at the end of the day, it happened it's normal.

Every day, as soon as I woke up I had to see people, as soon as I walked out the room I found more. When I went to go brush my teeth, the door was closed and I had to wait another fifteen minutes. Anyone could see how this could make a person go mad. At home, I have a big family but it's family which is completely different than people I just met a few months ago. But there were ways to attempt to make this situation better.

To get through this living arrangement, I used free time to my advantage. If everyone wanted to leave, I would stay just to get my space for ten minutes or so. A lot of times I would call back home just to be able to breathe away from my peers.

I had friends throughout the trip that helped me cope with our living situation which made the trip better. The best thing to do when living with a bunch of new people is figuring out what works best for you. Which I did for myself and in the end I was fine, but so so happy to finally be back home to get back in my personal space.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page